2 weeks to go

Only 2 weeks left! Damn, I wish I could stop the time.

I really can’t describe how I feel about it when someone ask me. So I simply show this photo, there aren’t better ways to explain it.
image

I’ve been quite busy lately, I didn’t have time to update my blog but hey… now I’ve a lot to tell you! ūüôā

Caitlin’s birthday

The 21st October was a special day, my sista’s bday! To celebrate this occasion a made a wonderful tiramis√ļ and we went out for dinner to an Italian pizzeria called Vesuvius ran by people from Naples. Cait was really happy with all her presents, most of all she enjoyed getting a new phone to substitute the very damaged one she had before, that had all the screen smashed.
If we celebrated Cait’s bday with her mum-side grandparents eating Italian, on Saturday we ate in a Thai restaurant with her dad-side relatives.

image

image
Finally a good pizzaūüĎćūüĎć I approve!
image

image

image

image

image

image

image
Tiramis√ļūüėĽūüėĽūüėĽūüėĽ

Surfing with Brendan

First of all I’ve finally¬†been surfing properly¬†thanks to my amazing host brother¬†Brendan, who has moved his “lazy ass” for me, love you bro. xx

This happened 3 weeks ago, we went to Soldiers beach after school, Cait was on a school camp. The weather wasn’t very nice, it was overcast but it didn’t matter, I was so excited!

This time I¬†used a bigger surfboard than last time, so it was easier and Brendan gave me the right tips in order to¬†not get smashed every time¬†a wave would have come towards me. Even if I¬†couldn’t¬†stand on the board at least I managed to catch the wave and¬†get on my knees. This¬†was already¬†a great goal!

I’m sorry I didn’t take any photos, maybe next time. Hopefully I’ll have few other chances to try before getting back.

 

Halloween

I spent the weekend of Halloween going to a fund-raising for brain cancer with my host family on Friday because their very close family friends lost their daughter at the early age of 20, only 2 years ago.

It was really a¬†commotional and funny night. We were all dressed up as the characters of movie¬†“Toy Story”. If you can’t tell by the photos, I was Barbie. I swear I’ve never worn a more humiliating and uncomfortable¬†costume than this.

image

image

On Saturday I went to a game of Central Coast Marines but unfortunately this time they lost, whereas on Sunday I went to the movies with my host siblings and their 12 year old cousin to watch Pixels, a really stupid¬†but hilarious movie with Adam Sandler.¬†Then we went to their nan’s house, which has a nice view on the lake, and we just chilled there for the rest of the day.

 

Sydney

If the weekend of Halloween was quite chilled the following one was much more exciting. On Friday I went for the Physics excursion to Sydney Luna Park with my favourite classmates of year 12. All the rides were so fun I filled me with adrenaline, which means dopamine and therefore happiness. Yay!

image

After this excursion, in the afternoon(arvo for an Australian),¬†I stayed in Sydney to meet Ilaria. We went on the jet boat but the weather was so wicked with us. In the morning it¬†was sticking hot and sunny and in the meantime we were getting from Luna Park to Circular Quay it started raining cats and dogs. We got all wet before getting on the boat ride. At least it wasn’t raining during the ride¬†but we got even wetter¬†when the boat was¬†spinning around and it was really¬†cold!

By the time we got off the boat our clothes were completely wet and so our messy hair. And we were supposed to go out for dinner there in Sydney in the evening.

No worries, we went for some shopping in the city and¬†so we got changed and we fixed our blurred makeup. ūüėČ

image

image

Then we went to a real, but real for real, Italian pizzeria: Rossopomodoro.

We  to wait for a while for our friend, another exchange student we e orientation in Italy,  and his host brother from Bayron Bay.

We had really nice night, the food was amazing, finally a pizza that¬†could be called pizza, and the company was hilarious. Gianni’s host brother could speak a little bit of Italian so we were talking half in English and half in Italian. hahah¬†His accent was so funny!

image

The next day I went with Ilaria’s host family to around many nice beaches on the Central Coast: Terrigal, The Entrance and Norah Head.

Ilaria and I had a bad experience eating Jelly Beans, which are some tricky lollies that can taste nice or disgusting and you just have to be lucky choosing the right one, but a part from this, I really enjoyed our trip. (#nonprovateloacasa)
image

image

image

image
image

When you don’t know what to do. Let’s have some jelly beans!
image

image

When¬†I¬†got¬†home I went with my host family to a party for Trevor’s dad bday where we had a massive BBQ and I played ping pong with Caitlin and her nice cousins.

 

Formal
On Thursday 12th November Caitlin and I had the year 10 formal. You may wonder what is the formal. That’s a very special elegant¬†dinner which is organised separately for year 10, because many¬†students may change school for year 11 and 12, or the may simply leave school to¬†go working,¬†and¬†for year 12 at¬†the end of¬†school.

For girls is a must to get hair and make up done and everyone dresses very smartly.

Our Formal took place in a really pretty hall at Soldiers beach, the only unfairness was the weather that again had been spiteful, and the food which was tasteless and awful.

A part for these little details it¬†was really¬†like living in a dream and I enjoyed¬†heaps¬†this night with my lovely¬†year 10 mates. Most of all I liked dancing and¬†when Zali, Louis and Caitlin were delivering the awards. Guess what I got?! If you believe it or not I got “kindest heart”. Hahah maybe someone would disagree with that. ūüėõ

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

By¬†10.00 pm everyone was leaving for meeting again to an year 10 girl’s house for the after party in more casual clothes. And here I was dancing again until my feet would still support me. It was funny talking to a guy who was so amazed by my voice and my accent. He really made me feel special. ahah

Patonga

On the weekend I went to a very little but pretty village surrounded by nature with my host family and their friends. The weather was still pretty bad but I enjoyed cooking lasagne for everyone, smashing Brendan at Monopoly and going fishing with Martin. Not that I could catch anything but Caitlin was luckier and she caught a cool octopus!
image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image
Mr Octopus.
image

Last week has been pretty intense with school because I had many assignments due, but in this way I could appreciate better the weekend.

On Friday I could finally¬†feel the real hot weather I was expecting¬†in Australia, the¬†temperature reached¬†42 degrees! It was unbelievable for me, but¬†I could still survive¬†at this temperature¬†since it wasn’t¬†humid. Straight¬†after school I went to Blue bay with¬†my classmate from English, Brandy, to refresh a little bit in the water. I love going to the¬†beach but this time there were many annoying¬†flies¬†all around me.

When I got home in the evening I wasn’t planning¬†to have another bath but my host parents¬†had been working on the pool the all day and while¬†showing me the¬†new wood deck Trevor¬†pushed me into the pool with clothes and thongs¬†still on and with¬†the mandarin¬†I was about to eat in my hand.
At first I got angry, then the water was so nice that I stayed inside for another hour until it was time to cook a BBQ.

 

Chilled arvo at Page’s house

Yesterday I met up with Caitlin Page and Isabel Pen who are Austin’s friends, the boy who’s currently on exchange in China.

I spent a lovely arvo talking with these two beautiful girls, eating a filling “Happy hour” and playing pool.

Then we watched “Inside out” with Caitlin’s little siblings, which I found it really deep and meaningful and it even made me cry despite the fact it was an animation film.

Finally we had a¬†delicious lasagne¬†made by Caitlin’s mum, which could be compared to the one my mum usually makes, so good! I felt like at home.

image
Happy hourūüôĆūüôĆ yeah!
image

image

And for dessert we had¬†Italian tart¬†I made, which wasn’t really the best since, as I usually do with all¬†cakes, I got a little bit smashed. Opss

We also videochatted¬†with Austin, I was really excited to see him after 4 months and I got quite emotional thinking about the very little time I have left here. I do but I don’t want to go home. Uffa!

 

Vicky xx

Rispondi

