Time’s flying, second trimester!

G’day mates! How are ya?

Sorry, I haven’t been updating for 3 weeks and lots have happened lately.

First of all I’m not in year 10 any more but I’ve started year 12! It may sounds weird but here in my Australian school year 11 finishes after 3 terms and it starts year 12 on the 4th term of the year. So last term they had the exams and this term year 10 had its exams too, but I’m not doing any of them, only few assignments, one for each subject. Yuppy! 😉

Why did I change year? I was really unsure till the last minute but now I reckon it was the best choice I could make.

Ilaria pushed me at least to try and so I did, because in year 12 I could meet people of my age and study some of the subjects I should be studying also in Italy.

So I talked to one of the teacher, who did an exchange in Italy, asking her if it could be possible and then she made me chose the subjects and even the vice principal gave me some help to catch up the topics I didn’t study. All the teachers have been really helpful and they have given me all the support and materials I needed. I’m really grateful to Lakes Grammar, I reckon that’s a great school and I will miss it heaps for sure, when I go back to Italy. Oh…I have only a little time left (40 days), that’s so sad! Every time I think about it I almost cry.

Reptile park

The day before starting the second trimester I went to the reptile park with a family friend and her relatives from Canada. I really enjoyed this zoo, even more than the Taronga zoo of Sydney because you could stay closer to the animals and there were lots of young volunteers holding catching speeches about Australian wild animals.
image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Central coast Mariners

Has I had been promised by my fantastic sporty family, on the Saturday we went to watch the first game of central coast marines at Ourimbah stadium. I hadn’t been to a serious soccer game before and I have to admit it was pretty exciting and our team won 3-2 against Perth glory. After that we went to a fund-raising for cancer where there were heaps of people walking nonstop around an athletic field and many bags with candles had been positioned on the edge in memory of the people who died from this awful disease.

image

image  

image

Surfing at Lakes beach with Roxy

Few weekends ago I went to the beach with Julie and Caitlin, my host mother and host sister, to bring the dog for a swim. With the occasion I tried to surf, with really bad results. Certainly I didn’t expect to stand on the board the first time but I couldn’t even get into enough far into the water to catch the wave that I was always swamped and dragged back to the shore.
At least I tried. :’) Hopefully my big brother Brendan will give me some lessons if the weather allows us (it has been pretty naughty lately).

image

image

image

image

Marvellous Soldiers beach

To conclude my first week in year 12, on the weekend I went to soldiers beach with my favorite exchange students Gina and Arianna, on Friday, and with Ilaria on Saturday. We wanted to surf but for many reasons we didn’t end up doing it, unfortunately. Anyway, I love Soldiers beach: it’s simply awesome and every time I go there I just feel so grateful to be here, and all my stupid paranoias suddenly go away.
Btw we had lots of fun playing volleyball, soccer or trying to catch the waves with the body board.

image

image

image

image

Bye for now,
Vicky

Coming soon
~my obsession: FOOD IN AUSTRALIA
~year 12
~10 facts I love and hate about Australia
~Aussie slang

Rispondi

